🧐What else is out there?πŸ€” πšπš‘πšŽ πšŠπšžπšπš‘πš˜πš›πšœ’ πš•πš’πš‹πš›πšŠπš›πš’

“Libraries were full of ideas-perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.” ~ Sarah J. Maas

To keep an introduction short: the books I love DO include romance, I just prefer when the romance isn’t the main picture. So, I present my β€œnot so romantic, but kinda romantic” recommendations:

11. Children of Eden

Romance Level: Twilight love triangle status πŸ‘

In short, Children of Eden, by Joey Graceffa, takes place in a world where the Earth is posioned and dead, all animals and most planets have gone extrincted due to a man made catastrophe. And thanks to a hand-full of brillant scientists, the last of Earths population lives in a giant dome that seperates them from the outside and provides for them. The story, (and three book series), follows the illegal second-child, Rowen, as she discovers life outside of her families basement, which ends in her going renegade and discovering adventure, action, and even romance (in more ways than one).

To be honest, the reason why I even purchased this book was because of the actual author. Not because he was well known AS an author, but because as a young influencal mind, I thought it would be cool to own a story written by a well-known Youtuber. Personally, as much as I enjoyed the actual story, it just didn’t have that wow factor that I got from so many other stories. But, again, thats just me.

10. The Forbidden Orchid

Romance Level: I mean, there is… kinda a marriage? πŸ€·πŸΌβ€β™€οΈ

This story, for some reason, has always stuck with me even though its something I would have never seen myself enjoying. Taking place in 1861, Elodie Buchanan was the oldest of 10 sisters. While there mother stays home to care for the family, her father works as a planet hunter for various clients until tragedy strikes and her father, and herself, go to China in search for a rare orchid that will save her family from debt and seperation. She finds herself on an adventure that will bring her new sights, dangers, and romance.

I discovered this book pushed to the back shelf of my school library and its worn and faded cover seemed to just rope me in. It was like a diamond in the rough among all of the new hardcovers. If enjoy historical fiction, adventure, and even romance, I would definetly recommed this as a read.

9. Where the Red Fern Grows

Romance Level: A. BOY. AND. HIS. DOGS. 😭

If you didn’t read this book in middle school, I. ENVY. YOU! I read it once and will never read it again. So… how would I describe this book in only a few words: Dogs. Hunting. Sadness. TEARS. TEARS. AND MORE TEARS. that is all. (and the only “romance” has to do with A BOYS LOVE FOR HIS DOGS, I’m still crying 😭.)

8. The Giver + Gathering Blue

Woah… WOAH! Two books in one? hAVe I GonE nuTS!?! (most likely, yes.). ‘The Giver’, (by Lois Lowry), follows 12 year old Jonas (unlike the movie) as he seemingly lives in the ideal community where there are (seemingly) no issues. Its only after he gains the title of The Reciever, does he begin to discover that there is more to his is community that meets the eye. (AND! This is a rare occastion that the movie can actually compete with how good the movie was!)

‘Gathering Blue’, (also by Lois Lowry), actually is considered ‘The Giver #2’. Instead of a world where everything is perfect, Kira lives in a world where the weak are discarded, and only her talent of embroidery has helped her to stay alive, (which, yes is strange, but TRUST ME ITS SO GOOD). I can’t even remember how I came across this book, and its hard to describe without spoiling to much.

7. Dragon Keeper (series)

Romance Level: just a sprinkle πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ³

I actually believe this is one of the first books to get me hooked onto the fantasy genre, I’ve always loved dragons so… 🐲

The story takes place in ancient China where the rule of a cruel emporer has resulted in the near extinction of dragons. In the story you meet a nameless orphan who, under her “owner”, is tasked with taking care of THE LAST KNOWN DRAGON IN CHINA (and we thought college was hard). After escaping with the dragon they go on an adventure across China to “heal” the dragon and bring his “purple stone” to safety. Even though my description is crap, you can read a better one here, its actually a really good story that goes on throughout six other books.

6. Red Queen (series)

Romance Level: TITANIC (<- the movie, just an FYI) 🚒

✨This is a good book if you like more of a modern feel, but still like the idea of magic. ✨

“This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power. Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime. But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.”

There is not much I can say about this book except that its an AMAZING read. The entire series has so many twists in turns its sure to keep any reader on their toes!

5. Hatchet

Romance Level: NON-EXISTENT πŸ™πŸ»

If you don’t know who Gary Paulsen is, he is probably the grandfather of ALL survival books. This one in particular covers the story of Brian, who is stranded in the middle of the woods after a plane crash. The book follows Brians struggle as he learns to survive on his own with only the help of the hatchet his mother bought him.

I remember my 6th grade teacher reading this to use whenever we had time, this resulted in me investing my time in our schools library reading all, (and I mean ALL), of Gary Paulsens’ books and calling myself a “survival expert”.

4. Name of the Wind (series)

Romance Level: Like a bard in DnD 🎸

Four words to describe this book: Magic. Music. Red Head. Enjoy πŸ™‚ (<- in other words, this book is hard to describe. This will help πŸ‘)

3. The Book Thief

Romance Level: Nada, Zip, Zero, None πŸ™ŒπŸ»

Allow me to set a scene. Imagine me, in highschool, BALLING OVER THIS STUPID BOOK IN THE MIDDLE OF CLASS, and then, MARCHING DOWN TO THE OFFICE OF THE TEACHER WHO RECOMMENDED IT TO ME AND CRYING SOME MORE. 10 out of 10 would read again.

This story is told from the point of view of Death during 1939, Nazi Germany. And tells the story of a young girl named Liesel whose life changes after she finds a book half hidden in the snow. Thus marks an adventure of girl who defys the odds by stealing books from Nazi book-burnings, the mayor’s wife’s library, and wherever there are books to be found.

2. A Court of Throne and Roses (series)

Romance Level: AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH 😭πŸ₯°

Okay so, there is a reason why the top two books are by the same author. Reason? BECAUSE SHE IS THE QUEEN OF MAAS DESTRUCTION! OMG, HER BOOKS ARE AMAZING!!!!!!

If you are a fan of Beauty and the Beast, then allow me to intrigue you. In a world of faries and Fae, Feyre is only a poor human in this huge world. After killing a farie to provide for her family, a creature bursts into her home and demands redemption. The price? Feyre going with the creature into the land of the faries. In a world so different from the one she is used to, she discovers friends in the most unlikely of places and help them to save both of their worlds. (ITS SOOOOOOO GOOD, please read 😭).

1. Throne of Glass (series)

Romance Level: Forget Love Triangles, more like Love Dodecagons β­•οΈπŸ˜

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!

I’m not going to try to describe this book, I’ll just let the actual description do the talking:

“In a world without magic, an assassin is summonded to the castle. She comes not to kill the vicious king who rules from his throne of glass but to win her freedom, she will be released from prison to serve as the King’s Champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien. The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. And a princess from a faraway land will befriend her. But something evil dwells in the castle– ands it’s there to kill. When competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’a fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival– and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.”

I’m not even slightly joking when I say this is one of the best books i’ve ever read, and the continued (and now finished, may I add) series adds SO MUCH!!! This book holds such a special place in my heart that it will always be the first book I recommend to people.

Published by kjcrotteau

I. HATE. ROMANCE.... most of the time.

One thought on “🧐What else is out there?πŸ€” πšπš‘πšŽ πšŠπšžπšπš‘πš˜πš›πšœ’ πš•πš’πš‹πš›πšŠπš›πš’

  1. You are an extremely witty writer, I enjoy it a lot! Also, I think I have only read one of these books, but maybe I should check out some of these recommendations. Thanks for them!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started